Sunday, June 21, 2009

2009 Young Professional of the Year

I am in the process of digesting this news and coming to believe myself that I have won this....well it is true and it is quite touching...It is the news that I have won the 2009 Young Professional of the Year Award!!

Professions Australia has awarded both "Professional of the Year" and "Young Professional of the Year" to ACS Members this year and it is a great win for the ICT industry among all the industries. Professions Australia represents many industries and I believe the competition was very high. So, whilst it's a personal win for me, it's a win for the ACS as well as the ICT industry.

The joint press release from Professions Australia and ACS can be found at

I think this is the first time that the ICT industry won the Professional of the Year Award, which was won by Phillip Argy this year. Phillip is the immediate Past President of the ACS. However, the ACS has had quite a good run in the past in the Young Professional of the Year Award category. In 2005 Debbie Timmins won the award, in 2006 Ana Govan won it and in 2007 Yohan Ramasundara was highly commended. I must say that I am glad to be recognised at the level that these individuals were recognised because I considered them as role models and was inspired by them to do what I am doing today.

The Awards over the years can be found at :

Anyway, this award has further encouraged me to do more things for the industry, always thinking outside the box and believing in myself.


Scott said...

Congratulations - well deserved. You have brought strong leadership to the YIT group and its great to see your efforts rewarded!

Yasas Vishuddhi Abeywickrama said...

Thanks Scott.