Sunday, June 21, 2009

2009 Young Professional of the Year

I am in the process of digesting this news and coming to believe myself that I have won this....well it is true and it is quite touching...It is the news that I have won the 2009 Young Professional of the Year Award!!

Professions Australia has awarded both "Professional of the Year" and "Young Professional of the Year" to ACS Members this year and it is a great win for the ICT industry among all the industries. Professions Australia represents many industries and I believe the competition was very high. So, whilst it's a personal win for me, it's a win for the ACS as well as the ICT industry.

The joint press release from Professions Australia and ACS can be found at

I think this is the first time that the ICT industry won the Professional of the Year Award, which was won by Phillip Argy this year. Phillip is the immediate Past President of the ACS. However, the ACS has had quite a good run in the past in the Young Professional of the Year Award category. In 2005 Debbie Timmins won the award, in 2006 Ana Govan won it and in 2007 Yohan Ramasundara was highly commended. I must say that I am glad to be recognised at the level that these individuals were recognised because I considered them as role models and was inspired by them to do what I am doing today.

The Awards over the years can be found at :

Anyway, this award has further encouraged me to do more things for the industry, always thinking outside the box and believing in myself.

Thursday, June 4, 2009

International Young ICT Professionals Conference

The 6th annual International Young ICT Professionals Conference will be held on the 3rd and 4th of September, 2009 at the Dockside Convention Centre, Darling Harbour in Sydney Australia. This year's theme is “Future of ICT - Lead, Transform, and Succeed“. The conference will combine a trade show and draw top ICT Professionals and Graduates in addition to international guests.

Key note speakers include Fiona Balfour (former CIO of Qantas and Telstra) and Graeme Wood (Founder of Wotif). The program will provide young professionals, recent graduates and university students around the world with the techniques, skills and confidence to advance their career in Information Communications Technology (ICT). A Panel Discussion is included as part of the 2 day program.

Other speakers include:
Dr Paul Scully-Power (Australia's first astronaut)
Glenn Wightwick (Director, IBM Australian Development Lab)
Neville Roach (Former Chairman Fujitsu Australia)
Varun Kapur (General Manager (ANZ) - Tata Consultancy Service)
Bianca Wirth (Green IT advocate)
Chris Johnson (Australian National University)
Sarma Rajaraman (CIO, Genworth Financial)
Debbie Timmins (Young Professional of the Year 2005)
Yohan Ramasundara (Immediate Past Director, Young IT Professionals Board)
Jill Noble (Principal, Pivotal HR)
Mark Lloyd (A National ICT Identity and Thought Leader)
Tom Worthington (Author of the book 'Net Traveller')
Julie Irwin (A Winner of IT's Million $ Babes Award).
Stephen Kowal (CIO, CSC Australia)

Inspirational presentations from a world-class selection of speakers provide an invaluable opportunity that should not be missed by young professionals all around the world! The conference incorporates opportunities to network with fellow participants, speakers, sponsors CIO’s, colleagues and potential future employers.

To register, please go to the Conference website at: